Singapore Shipbuilders Elect Chua Chor Teck

The membership of the Singapore Association of Shipbuilders and Repairers have, for the 5th successive year, elected Chua Chor Teck president of the organization. At the 9th Annual General Meeting of SASAR held in April, Chua Chor Teck delivered his report for the period April 1976 to April 1977, which was subsequently approved.

Following the approval of the president's report, the statement of accounts and balance sheet, members elected the following to the 9th Management Committee of the Association: President, Chua Chor Teck, managing director, Keppel Shipyard Ltd.; vice presidents, Low Guan Onn, joint managing director, Jurong Shipyard Ltd., and K.K. Ching, managing director, Kwong Soon Engineering Co. Pte. Ltd.; honorary secretary, Lim Cheng Pah, director of personnel and training, Sembawang Shipyard Ltd.; honorary treasurer, Alan Keet, chairman/managing director, Straits Engineers Contracting Pte. Ltd.; committee members, Sherman C. Perry, president/managing director, Bethlehem Singapore Pte. Ltd., Loke Mun Chong, managing director, Eagle Engineering Co. Pte.

Ltd., John H. Morris, general manager, Far East-Levingston Shipbuilding Ltd., Akira Mori, managing director/general manager, Hitachi Zosen Robin Dockyard Pte. Ltd., T. Kumose, president, Mitsubishi Singapore Heavy Industries Pte. Ltd., Brian Chang, chairman/managing director, Promet Pte. Ltd., S.Y. Loh, managing director, Robin Shipyard Pte. Ltd., J.W.F. Mackinnon, general manager, Singapore Shipbuilding & Engineering Ltd., Lawrence Mah, managing director, Singapore Slipway & Engineering Co. Pte. Ltd., Robert Du Cane, managing director, Vosper Thornycroft Pte. Ltd., and Victor Choy, managing director, Weng Chan Engineering Co. Pte. Ltd. Low Guan Onn was also reelected to one of the two posts of vice president for the fourth term. K.K. Ching was returned as the other vice president. Sherman Perry, one of the outgoing vice presidents, was elected a committee member.

The honorary secretary, Lim Cheng Pah, was reelected for the second year running. Alan Keet is the new honorary treasurer, replacing Loke Mun Chong, who had to step down under the constitution. He was, however, reelected to the Management Committee as a committee member.

All the other outgoing committee members were reelected.

The Association had made concrete progress in the past year, and the new Management Committee will continue to promote the interests of the industry and its members. Several programs and activities already initiated by the previous committee will be followed up to fruition. New programs will be planned and the various standing committees will be in a position to make further contributions.

shipyard shipbuilding shipbuilders shipbuilding engineering organization A & B Industries Keppel industry president management training manager members chairman position personnel industries Singapore slipway committee meeting association member engineers approval